Highlights of the 2007 MAHC Annual Conference

More than 262 participants from nine states convened in San Diego, California May 13—May 17 for the Annual Conference. We offered two extra events for 2007: the City Tour and a Casino trip. The City Tour was an early bird special for members that arrived early for the conference. We filled five buses with 218 people for the Casino trip on Monday.

The conference brought together key people from across the Midwest to gain practical knowledge at professional workshops, and network with fellow members. The attendees chose from a spectrum of 20+ workshops on such diverse housing cooperative issues such as Ethics and Policies; Increasing Profits for your Cooperative; Team Building; Enhanced Board Basics; Fair Housing; Effective Board Meetings; Refinancing; By-Laws and Amendments; Grant Writing; and Disaster Preparedness; to name a few.

2007 MAHC Award Recipients

Among the Conference’s many highlights was the presentation of MAHC service awards, given each year to recognize members, advocates, and organizations that have made significant and notable contributions to the cooperative housing industry.
This year’s four awards and recipients were:

· The A. Morley President Gavel Award
This year’s outstanding Board President was Lauretta Christy; Walton Park Co-op Pontiac, MI.

· The Dr. Herman E. Curtis Award
The Dr. Herman E. Curtis Award was presented to Liz Barthfor her outstanding service to her cooperative; Jamestown Homes of Mishawaka in Mishawaka, IN.

· The C. March Miller II Award
Randall Pentiuk; Pentiuk, Couvreur & Kobiljak Wyandotte, MI received the C. March Miller II Award by the MAHC President for his outstanding service as a MAHC board member.

· The Almeda Ritter Award
Larry Lyon; Midwest Management, Lansing, MI was honored for his devotion and contributions to the cooperative housing community.